Move Over AlabamaMatt Boster
Posted by: Matt Boster
Date: Aug 01 2012 2:48 PM
Additions added to the current Move Over Law in Alabama, Now you will also have to slow down to 15 miles under the posted speed limit and move to a another lane.
The fines if you are stopped are as follows with Court Cost figured in;
1st offence $215.00
2nd Offence $240.00
3rd Offence $290.00
By disobeying this law you are putting the workers, and your wallet at risk, so remember See lights flashing on the side of the road slow down and move over if possible.
Below is a copy of the new law.
Relating to motor vehicles; to amend Section
32-5A-58.2 of the Code of Alabama 1975, the Alabama Move Over Act, to include utility services vehicles in the type of vehicles on the roadside which the driver of another motor vehicle is required to move over or slow down when approaching.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA: Section 1. Section 32-5A-58.2 of the Code of Alabama 1975, is amended to read as follows: "§32-5A-58.2. "(a) This section shall be known as the "Alabama Move over Act." "(b)(1) When an authorized law enforcement vehicle or emergency vehicle making use of any visual signals is parked, when a wrecker displaying amber rotating or flashing lights is performing a recovery or loading on the roadside, or when a utility service vehicle operated by or on behalf of an entity providing utility services displaying any rotating lights, flashing lights, or other visual signals is parked on the roadside while performing tasks associated with the provision of utility services, the driver of every other vehicle, as soon as it is safe, shall do the following:"a. When driving on an interstate highway or other highway with two or more lanes traveling in the direction of the law enforcement vehicle, emergency vehicle, wrecker, or utility service vehicle, the driver shall vacate the lane closest to the law enforcement vehicle, emergency vehicle, wrecker, or utility service vehicle, unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer. If not safe to move over, the driver shall slow to a speed that is at least 15 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer. "b. When driving on a two-lane road, the driver shall move as far away from the law enforcement vehicle, emergency vehicle, wrecker, or utility service vehicle as possible within his or her lane and slow to a speed that is 15 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit when the posted speed limit is 25 miles per hour or greater or travel at 10 miles per hour when the posted speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less, unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer. "(2) A violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of twenty-five dollars ($25). Upon a second violation of this subsection, the fine shall be fifty dollars ($50). Upon a third or subsequent violation, the fine shall be one hundred dollars ($100). "(c)(1) The Department of Public Safety shall provide an educational awareness campaign informing the motoring public about this section. The department shall provide information about this section in all newly printed driver's license educational materials after January 1, 2010. "(2) This section shall not relieve the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle from the duty to drive with due regard for the safety of all persons using the highway.
Section 2. This act shall become effective on the first day of the third month following its passage and approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.